Marion County Historical Society logo
Main Page Fadely History Award Board of Directors Contact Us Events History Links Membership

The Fadely History Award

The Fadely History Award, established in 1986 by the James P. Fadely family, honors John Fadely (1792-1848), who brought the family from the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia to Indiana in the autumn of 1837. The Fadely History Award is "presented in recognition of outstanding effort to advance the knowledge of history in Indianapolis and Marion County."

Recipients of the Fadely History Award:

1986 Matthew E. Welsh, 41st Governor of Indiana (1961-1965)

1987 J. Reid Williamson, Jr., president, Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana (1974-2005)

1988 Kanwal Prakash (K.P.) Singh, Indianapolis artist specializing in architectural drawings

1989 Joseph T. Taylor - professor of sociology and founding dean of the School of Liberal Arts, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis.

1990 William H. Hudnut III, 45th Mayor of Indianapolis (1976-1992)

1991 Emma Lou Thornbrough and Gayle Thornbrough

1992 Howard Caldwell, journalist and news anchor, WRTV-6 (1959-1995). Producer of "Howard's Indiana" series and author of numerous books on Indianapolis and Indiana history.

1993 Ophelia Umar Wellington, educator and founder of Freetown Village.

1994 Race Relations History Project/Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce

1995 Encyclopedia of Indianapolis - edited by David J. Bodenhamer, Robert G. Barrows, and David G. Vanderstel

1996 Alan T. Nolan, attorney, civil rights activist, and Civil War Historian. Author of Lee Considered: General Robert E. Lee and Civil War History (1996) and The Iron Brigade: A Military History (1994)

1997 Fred Heckman, Indianapolis radio broadcaster on WIBC (1957-2000). Producer of "My Town Indy" radio essay series.

1998 Jerry Sargent, editor, Perry Township Weekly and editor emeritus, The Southside Times

1999 Jim Irsay, owner, Indianapolis Colts

2000 The Indianapolis Star for its turn of the millennium series on Indianapolis history

2001 Irvington Historical Society

2002 Indiana German Heritage Society

2003 Randall Childers/Sacred Heart Church Restoration

2004-05 Ralph D. Gray, emeritus professor of history, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis. Author of numerous books on Indiana history and editor of the Meredith Nicholson Reader published by the Marion County Historical Society (2007). Recipient of the Indiana Historical Society Lifetime Achievement Award (2010).

2006 James J. Divita, professor, Marian University. Author of numerous books on Indianapolis parish histories, including Indianapolis Cathedral: A Construction History of Our Three Mother Churches (1986) and Splendor of the South Side: A History of Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Parish in Indianapolis (2000).

2010 Pamela J. Bennett, director, Indiana Historical Bureau (1976 to present)